Captions
AI that edits your footage like an editor — plus AI twins, actors and auto-captions
Disclosure: the Visit Captions button may be an affiliate link — it supports the directory at no extra cost to you. Saving is private: it is stored only in your browser.
Facts checked · Nov 2026 — the pricing, free-plan and watermark facts on this page were checked against Captions's official pages. See how we verify and the listing changelog.
Price alerts for Captions
AI video tools change prices and credit rules without warning — Kling has raised prices roughly 3× before. Get emailed when Captions's price, credits or free plan changes.
Our verdict
Best for phone-first creators who film themselves talking: Captions edits the whole video for you — cuts, captions, B-roll — and adds AI twins and actors in the same app. The free plan, though, contains no AI at all.
Captions at a glance
| Starting price | Max plan from $24.99/month (iOS pricing) |
| Pricing type | Freemium |
| Free plan | Yes |
| Free export allowed | ✓ |
| Category | AI Video Editors |
| Entry price estimate (our calculator) | $24.99/month, credits-based |
| How the billing works | Max $24.99/mo, 500 credits/mo (iOS pricing) — verified on official pricing page Nov 2026 |
What Captions really costs
Captions meters everything generative through one credit pool: 500 credits a month on Max ($24.99) and 1,400 on Frontier ($69.99), which prices a credit at about five cents on both tiers. What a credit buys varies by feature — an AI Edit pass, a twin generation, dubbing and generated media all draw at their own rates, and Captions does not publish a single per-video rate on its pricing page.
The practical consequence: Max is best understood as a monthly AI budget for one active creator, not as a number of videos. Light users will bank credits (rollover allows a balance up to 3x the monthly allowance); heavy twin or ad generation will push you to Frontier quickly. Because per-feature rates are not published on the pricing page, we do not present per-video cost cards for Captions — check the in-app credit cost of the exact feature you plan to use before subscribing.
Credit allowances and prices are from Captions' official pricing page, checked Nov 2026; the page notes that prices reflect iOS plans only. Per-feature credit rates were not published on that page, so no per-unit derivation is shown.
What is Captions?
Captions — the app from Mirage, which recently folded its Mirage Studio product into it — is an AI video studio built around a simple promise: upload talking footage and the AI edits it like an editor would. Its AI Edit applies a chosen style across the whole video at once: cutting scenes, punching in zooms, laying B-roll, music and captions. A chat-based editor then lets you ask for changes in plain language instead of learning a timeline.
The same app also generates: AI twins (a digital double of you), custom AI actors, AI ads and skits, generated B-roll, images, music and voiceovers, plus dubbing with lip-sync and a Clips feature that batches a long video into shorts. That breadth is why it is categorized here as an AI video editor rather than a caption app — captions, its namesake feature, is now one department in a much bigger studio, and the pricing page's own comparison table treats basic captioning as a free-plan feature while every generative tool sits behind the subscription.
How Captions works
- 1Download the app or start on the web and try the free plan first: trimming, transitions, resize, teleprompter and basic captions — enough to learn the interface, not the AI.
- 2Record or upload a talking video and run AI Edit: pick a style and let it cut, caption and dress the whole video.
- 3Refine with the chat-based editor — describe the change ('add B-roll of the product here', 'tighten the opening') rather than dragging clips.
- 4When filming is the bottleneck, create an AI twin or pick a digital actor and generate presenter videos from a script.
- 5Watch the credit meter: every AI feature draws from the same monthly pool (500 credits on Max), and unused credits roll over up to a 3x cap.
- 6Export for the platform you are posting to; Max and above are the tiers built for publishable, AI-made output.
Core features
AI Edit
Pick a style from a curated library and Captions edits the entire video at once — scene cuts, overlays, B-roll and more — instead of applying one effect at a time.
AI twins and actors
Create a digital twin of yourself or choose from custom AI actors, then generate presenter videos with prompts for outfit, background and product inserts. Max supports up to 30 AI Twins, per Captions' help-center reporting.
Chat-based editor
Direct changes conversationally. For creators who never learned a timeline, this is the feature that makes the app feel different from a normal editor.
Captions in 100+ languages
Auto captions with one template on the free plan and 100+ templates on paid plans, plus transcript downloads.
Clips
Turn one long video into a batch of post-ready short clips — the repurposing workflow, inside the same subscription.
Dubbing and lipdub
AI Translate and Lipdub re-voice videos in other languages with matched lip movement, alongside voice cloning, denoise and censor tools.
Generated media
AI B-roll, music, sound effects, images and video generation, all metered from the same credit pool.
The free plan — the full truth
Captions' free plan is easy to describe because its pricing page is blunt about it: AI usage credits on Free are 'None'. What you get is a competent basic editor — teleprompter, trim, zoom, transitions, resize, sound effects, captions with a single template — and no generative AI whatsoever. AI Edit, twins, actors, dubbing, clips and generated media all require a subscription, and the first tier that unlocks them in full is Max at $24.99/month.
So judge the free plan as an interface demo, not a product sample. It will show you whether you like editing in this app; it cannot show you how your face looks as a twin or how AI Edit treats your footage. Watermark specifics for free exports are not stated on the pricing page we read, and we make no claim about them here; what is certain is the feature wall, which for most buyers matters more than a watermark would.
- • Zero AI credits on the free plan — every generative feature is paywalled
- • One caption template on free, against 100+ on paid plans
- • Basic editing only: trim, transitions, resize and stock assets
- • Published prices are iOS plans only; web and Android prices may differ
- • Watermark policy for free exports is not stated on Captions' pricing page (checked Nov 2026)
Captions pricing plans
| Plan | Price | Credits included | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | No AI credits; basic editing tools and 1 caption template | Learning the app and making simple manual edits |
| Max | $24.99/month | 500 credits/month; AI Edit styles, twins and actors, chat editor, Clips, generated media | One creator who wants the full AI feature set |
| Frontier | $69.99/month | 1,400 credits/month; everything in Max plus the most advanced generative model tier (2x and 4x sizes are also sold) | Heavy generators and ad production |
| Enterprise | Custom | Bulk credit discounts, custom seats, training-data exclusion and dedicated management | Companies with compliance or volume requirements |
Plans and credits are from Captions' official pricing page, read this session (Nov 2026). Captions states that displayed prices reflect iOS plans only; a cheaper Basic tier (formerly Pro) appears in its help center rather than on the public pricing page and is not listed above.
Pros
- + AI Edit is a genuinely different, faster way to finish talking videos
- + Twins, actors, dubbing and editing in one phone-first app
- + Chat-based editing lowers the skill floor to near zero
- + Credits roll over (up to 3x), which suits bursty creators
- + Large caption template library and 100+ caption languages
Cons
- − Free plan contains no AI at all — the demo cannot show the product's point
- − Published pricing is iOS-only; other platforms may differ
- − Per-feature credit rates are not published on the pricing page, so output is hard to forecast
- − Best experienced on a phone; desktop-first editors may find it limiting
Best for
- ✓ Solo creators filming talking videos on their phone
- ✓ Faceless channels using AI twins and actors
- ✓ Advertisers producing short AI-actor ads and skits
- ✓ Non-editors who want finished videos without learning a timeline
Not ideal for
- ✕ Anyone who wants to test AI features for free
- ✕ Precision editors who need frame-level timeline control
- ✕ Teams needing transparent, published per-feature pricing
Captions alternatives
See all alternatives →In this batch, Submagic is the closest rival for finishing talking shorts — it is desktop/web-first, caption-led, and publishes its per-video credit rate, but it will not generate a twin of you. In the main catalog, VEED offers a broader browser editor with avatars and subtitles, and CapCut is the free-first phone editor most Captions users already know. For pure avatar generation at scale, compare HeyGen, whose credit system is also opaque but whose avatars are its whole product.
Runway
Runway is one of the most complete creative AI video platforms, combining text and image-to-video generation with editing tools such as background changes, relighting and object removal. It is aimed at creators and teams who want generation and post-production in one workspace rather than a single-purpose generator.
Vizard converts long recordings into multiple short, captioned clips, detecting speakers and highlights automatically. It is popular with marketing teams, coaches and agencies that produce shorts from webinars, podcasts and meetings in bulk.
Descript
Descript records, transcribes and lets you edit video by deleting words from the transcript. Its AI tools remove filler words, clean studio sound and generate captions, making it a favorite of podcasters and talking-head creators.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Captions free to use?
There is a free version with basic editing tools, but it includes no AI credits — Captions' own pricing page lists the free plan's AI credit quantity as 'None'. AI Edit, twins and dubbing all need Max or above.
How much does Captions cost?
Max is $24.99/month with 500 credits; Frontier is $69.99/month with 1,400 credits and the most advanced models, with larger 2x and 4x sizes also sold. Listed prices reflect iOS plans.
What is an AI twin in Captions?
A digital double of you that can present new videos from a script, so you can publish without re-filming. Twins and custom AI actors are paid features starting on Max.
Do Captions credits expire?
Unused credits roll over to the next month, and your balance can hold up to 3x your monthly allowance — so up to 1,500 credits banked on Max.
Captions or Submagic?
Captions generates as well as edits — twins, actors, B-roll — and lives on your phone. Submagic only finishes footage you shot, but publishes a fixed per-video credit rate and works in the browser. Choose by whether you need generation or just finishing.
Can Captions dub my videos into other languages?
Yes — AI Translate and Lipdub are part of the paid feature set, re-voicing videos with matched lip movement, metered from the same credit pool.


